Microsoft users hit with global cloud outage that impacted products like Teams and Outlook

Microsoft users hit with global cloud outage that impacted products like Teams and Outlook

In this article

MSFT

The Microsoft logo is seen at the Microsoft store in New York City.
Mike Segar | Reuters

Microsoft

The U.S. technology giant has now rolled back a network change that it believes responsible for a disruption that left several users unable to access multiple Microsoft 365 services earlier Wednesday.

The company also said that some of its previously impacted customers are now reporting recovery.

Microsoft observed problems In the early hours of Wednesday.

“We’ve identified a potential networking issue and are reviewing telemetry to determine the next troubleshooting steps,” the company said.

Downdetector, a service where people can log problems and outages with websites and apps, saw a spike in users reporting issues with Microsoft products, including Outlook, Teams and the company’s cloud product Azure, at around 3 a.m. ET on Wednesday.

Microsoft said that at around 7:05 UTC — 2:05 ET — customers may “experience issues with networking connectivity, manifesting as network latency and/or timeouts when attempting to connect to Azure resources in multiple regions, as well as other Microsoft services.”

The company updated on Twitter at 9:26 GMT — 4:26 ET — that it has “rolled back a network change that we believe is causing impact. We’re monitoring the service as the rollback takes effect.”

The Microsoft outage comes just hours after it reported better-than-expected earnings for the October-December quarter. But the company saw a slowdown in revenue from cloud computing products, including Azure, and gave gloomy guidance for the current quarter.

Post a Comment